Erm, hi?

God these things are awkward.

I decided roughly 37 minutes ago that I was going to start a blog, so here I am, writing my first blog post and I have no idea where to start! I figured that my life is crazy and interesting enough to write about, but clearly it isn’t!

SO, let me introduce myself and tell you a little more on my intentions for this blog.

I’m 20, I was 18 when we found out I was pregnant. As you can imagine we had some, lets say, interesting reactions… So, fast forward nearly 18 months and we have a beautiful bouncing 8 month old, a few debts, no money, our own place and a relationship that’s been through the wars and back, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. (Well, maybe a bit more money.)

When I found out I was pregnant, I knew straight away that I would breastfeed. In fact, at this point I assumed that all mums breastfed for at least the first week or so. I just thought it was the ‘norm’. There were a few things I had never even thought of before. Like, baby wearing. What the hell is that? Why on earth would you want a lump strapped to your chest? Well, it turns out that this babywearing malarkey was a blimmin’ life saver in the first few months.

Throughout my pregnancy I made sure to research as much as I could. I took this pregnancy thing pretty seriously you know. Some mums like to research about the best pram or bottles to buy, but all I was interested in was making sure we gave Freddie the best childhood we can. So, then I came across ‘attachment parenting’. The name in itself is pretty off putting and makes it sound like you are setting yourself up for a clingy 21 year old who still sleeps in your bed. BUT, after lots of researching and joining some amazing facebook groups, I loved everything about this ‘new’ type of parenting. I say new, but it isn’t very new at all. The ideologies behind this type of parenting is just following your instincts, and instincts have been around a lot longer than cry-it-out or weaning your child onto chicken curry at 3 months. I offloaded all of my thoughts onto my partner who thankfully was incredibly supportive and loved the idea of this type of parenting.

Here is my partner and Freddie at 4 months old enjoying skin to skin in the bath together. 11225237_10206505272806065_5603524013439316434_o

(Yes, that is a Zelda tattoo and a really sexy beard. And no, he is not available!)

 

SO, if you’ve got this far then well done and thank you for reading my spur of the moment ramblings. I have a feeling this could be the start of something interesting and I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about our crazy life.

Next blog post will be our adventures of BLW!

 

Connect with me:

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Instagram

 

4 thoughts on “Erm, hi?

  1. Love it Eve, keep it up! I’d love to write a blog but I would never be able to get my thoughts into a readable arricle! Will be following this and look forward to reading more! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I found out what I was doing was attachment parenting a couple of months after my son was born. I love it. Just following your mommy instincts and listening to your baby and this whole parenting thing feels quite relaxing and really rewarding.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

