#TeamSanta

Screenshot 2015-12-04 at 20.45.29

 

 

We love Santa in this house.

I have such fond memories of Christmas time growing up and that was all down to good old Santa. I want Freddie to have the same magical experience as I did. This year he is getting a stocking (all the presents inside will be from Santa) and all the presents under the tree are from family etc. I think it’s important for children to appreciate the effort and kindness people have gone to to buy presents for them and I ain’t letting Santa take all the credit.

As much as I love Christmas and love the magic Santa brings, I hate the ‘good’ and ‘bad’ culture surrounding Christmas, we will do our best to create a magical and lovely experience for Freddie but we will be doing that without the ‘fear’ of Santa not bringing him any presents if he is ‘bad’. I think the whole idea of a random fat bloke bringing you presents if you’re ‘good’ is a little creepy so we will be leaving that bit out.

After all, what even defines a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ child? Usually a bad child is one who doesn’t conform to it’s parent’s wishes. I never want Freddie to feel like he must conform to my wishes and desires. I want to be respected, of course, but in order to be respected I will respect him first and show him how it’s done.

Here are some photos of our decorations, as promised!

12339394_10207090694961253_1745440576533898021_o12322822_10207090694801249_8385010428905239947_o

(We ended up going for a green tree as there were no white ones left!)12322566_10207090694761248_6061516102865350085_o12339540_10207090694641245_2178138158878102994_o

See you soon x

Connect with me:

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Instagram

22 thoughts on “#TeamSanta

  1. Happy Christmas to you too. I think the good and bad is more about the behaviour. So if they do naughty things like xyz vs showing good behaviour like xyz. That to me is acceptable because any child should be able to follow good behaviour and bad behaviour directives.

    Like

  2. I do agree with you about the ‘good’ and ‘bad’ labelling. I usually ignore that side of the Santa thing. I also dislike the Elf on the Shelf for the very same reason! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your decorations! Its probably no harm to have something that children can be that extra bit good for in the run up to Christmas but I agree we certainly wont be suggesting that any of our chilfren might not get something if they’re bold, it wouldn’t be fair

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you are quite right, if you cannot teach your child what behaviour is expectable then a threat of a mythological being is not going to cut it.
    Think you are quite right they learn some come from Santa and some from people. and as children we had to read the lable to see who they were from before we opened them so we could write thank you letters.

    Like

  5. I like your attitude of letting your child know from the earliest years that some presents come from people and that it is only right to say thank you for gifts received. It should also make life a bit easier when he realises that Santa doesn’t actually exist.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I always go for the good child. I don’t know if there is such a thing as a bad child either. More than like naughty. But just like every year when I was a child in the end I was always nice and got my presents even being a bit bold over every year. You can’t have a child not get any presents for Xmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

