Dads Are Not Babysitters, They Are Parents

RANDOM FACT (1).png

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how we constantly put fathers down.

We assume that they are all clueless about parenting and if they are left in charge of the kids then something will definitely go wrong.

I can safely say that every time I am left in charge of Freddie (every day) something ALWAYS goes wrong. He will fall over, he will get poo on my toe, he will fall head first into his toy box, he will shove a carrot up his nose… the list is endless. But for some reason, whenever these things happen when a dad is left in charge it’s completely different and it’s because he doesn’t have a clue about parenting.

I don’t know about you but I, a mother, am pretty clueless 94% of the time. My son is nearly 1 and I’m still learning every single day and so is my partner.

My partner is as much of a parent as I am. Sure, I am Freddie’s main carer but that’s because my partner is out working and earning money for us to live and without him we would be in a pretty dire situation.

A dad isn’t just an income earner, he is a role model, a snot wiper, a nappy changer, a baby wearer, a tear wiper, a soother. His role is as valid as a mother’s.

I am completely aware that there are many fathers who don’t even deserve the title. It’s easy for a man to get up and run as soon as his partner gets pregnant but lets not forget that MOST men step up and accept as much responsibility as the mum does.

We forget that many fathers stay at home with the kids whilst the mum goes back to work and for your information, that is not babysitting.

Read here about ways dad can bond with their breastfed baby

 

 

Connect with me:

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Instagram

 

11 thoughts on “Dads Are Not Babysitters, They Are Parents

  1. so very true I have always been the one who works in out home while the husband stayed home we have 6 children and ou youngest are 5,6,7 so when younger one of us needed to be home and it worked better and financially better for me to work he is more than capable of doing all the things I do

    Like

  2. I love witchingly partner with our Son, it’s so cute. He’s a great dad. But I do often send a text if I’m out asking if he’s been fed… it’s not that I don’t trust him it’s mainly of my piece of mind. But he’s certainly not a babysitter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

